Heading

Home

Bird, bug, box

Events page

Hedge laying page

Links page

Photo gallery page

Pole lathe page

Task days

Contacts page

 

 

 

 

 

Links Page

The main idea of this page is to give you links to things, places, organisations etc that can help you in the same way they help the volunteers, without you having to search through phone directories or search the internet, when you are not quite sure what it is you're looking for or where to find it.

Web sites:


High Woods Country Park web site: http://www.colchester.gov.uk/countrypark

Big Garden web site: http://www.colchester.gov.uk/biggarden

Colchester Tourist Information: http://www.visitcolchester.com

If you need a pdf reader, try: http://get.adobe.com/uk/reader/

This is the new map website. If you click once on one of the red spotty sections on the map, it will tell you where it is, if it's in the borough of Colchester, then the volunteers help look after it: https://stratus.pbondemand.eu/connect/colchesterborough/?mapcfg=parksandrecreation

Hedge Laying information web site: http://www.hedgelaying.org.uk

Insurance for Charities and volunteer groups: http://www.tcv.org.uk/

Grants for Charities and volunteer groups: http://www.biglotteryfund.org.uk/funding/Awards-For-All

Essex Wildlife Trust - Living Landscapes web site: http://www.essexwt.org.uk/living-landscapes

Essex Bat Group, anything and everything to do with all bats: http://www.essex-batgroup.org.uk/

Association of Pole lathe Turners and Greenwood Workers web site: https://www.bodgers.org.uk/

Robin Fawcett - Greenwoodworker and good friend of the Volunteers: http://treewright.blogspot.co.uk/

Heritage Crafts - An organisation that's trying hard to keep old crafts going: http://www.heritagecrafts.org.uk/

Green Wood Work courses - http://www.greenwoodwork.co.uk/

Want to buy your own Pole Lathe, our's came from: http://www.cotswoldwoodlandcrafts.co.uk/

Living Woods Magazine: http://www.britishwoodworking.com/ click on the "click here to subscribe online" link - It will take you to "Freshwood Publishing" You will find Living Woods listed there. Back issues are available - The article included on this site was in the Sept/Oct 2011 issue, I don't know if there are copies still available.

For books quoted on this site try: http://www.amazon.co.uk/books/

If you want to try some other games, or down load them onto your own computer: http://www.brainjar.com/

 

The people who we have used for our training courses are:

Writtle College web site: http://www.writtle.ac.uk/

Field Studies Council web site: http://www.field-studies-council.org/flatford_mill we also used Epping Forest, just exchange flatford_mill with eppingforest.